Parker quink ink review: Parker Quink Blue Black Ink Review — The Pen Addict

Parker Quink Blue ink Review

Parker Quink Blue Ink is one of the 3 current Parker fountain pen ink colors being offered in the United States, along with Black and Blue Black.  This ink, made in France, is an everyday workhorse type of ink that is very inexpensive and produces a nice, soft shade of blue.  Parker calls this ink “washable” vs. the Parker “permanent” ink, which is available in Europe and thus its not forgery resistant and some have found it will fade a bit over time.  However the Parker Quink brand of ink has been around for a long time, being first produced in the early 1900’s.  Pen Chalet has all three Parker Quink ink colors in stock.

Parker Quink Blue Ink

Please note some of the characteristics we found when using this Parker Quink Blue ink, which you may find helpful:

Testing Factors

We used a Rohrer & Klingner glass dip pen for this review on Rhodia N. 18 paper.  This style of dip pen has a larger head, which is equivalent to a medium to broad nib size.

Bottle Sizes

Parker Quink inks come in a large 1.9 oz. (57 ml.) unique glass bottle.  The bottle itself is custom made for Parker with raised lettering on the bottom, as well as the Country of origin (France).  The shape, which has flat sides allow for the bottle to be laid down on its side when filling a pen with the bottle’s final drips.  The opening of the bottle is a very large mouth opening for easy access and maneuverability.

Cost

Parker Quink Blue ink 57 ml. bottles cost a super inexpensive retail price of $10.81.  This is a fantastic price for a imported large bottle of fountain pen ink.

Dry Time

Unfortunately the dry time was not very quick.  Using the Rohrer & Klingner glass dip pen (Medium to broad nib equivalent) I showed a 30+ second dry time.  However, using a J. Herbin glass dip pen (with an extra fine equivalent tip) the dry time was a more reasonable 5-7 seconds.

Bleed Through

There was no bleed through using the Parker Quink Blue Ink with the pens used during this review on the Rhodia paper.

Feathering

Using the Rhodia paper and the Rohrer & Klingner dip pen there was no feathering perceptible to the naked eye.  However, under the water test (see below), there was very apparent feathering and line distortion.

Water Test

Running a wet cotton swab over the sample ink lines after a 3 minute dry time, produced substantial smearing, feathering and slight running of colors.  This is not a waterproof ink, in fact, Parker refers to this ink as “washable”.

Shading

Using a glass dip pen there was very little noticeable shading.  However, using other nib variations will produce a slight shading, but not large.

Conclusion about the Parker Quink Blue ink

This is wonderfully priced imported ink, with a large capacity unique glass bottle.  The blue color fountain pen ink is very soft and can be used on a daily basis.  The Parker Quink Blue Ink should not be used as a permanent or historic document type ink, but has been enjoyed by many pen lovers for almost a century.  Great value, beautiful color, high quality imported ink.  You cant go wrong having all three Parker Quink ink colors in your collection.

Parker Quink Black Ink – 2 oz Bottle

Parker Quink Black Ink – 2 oz Bottle | JetPens
JetPens is accepting and shipping orders. See COVID-19 for more details.

$13.25

In stock and usually ships within 1 to 3 business days.

Description Specifications Questions & Answers

The Parker Quink is a high-quality and smooth flowing ink that has been used for almost a century. Quink ink (named by blending the words “quick” and “ink”) was developed in the early 1900’s as a revolutionary ink that eliminated the need for blotting (from Wikipedia). These days the majority of fountain pen inks available feature smooth flow and quick drying times, but the Parker Quink still remains as a classic favorite. Like all Quink products, this ink is dye-based and non-toxic.Compare Colors & Sizes

Model Number PARKER 1950375
Manufacturer Parker
Bottle Size 59.1 ml / 2.0 oz
Fluorescent No
Ink Color Black
Ink Composition iTo learn more about ink composition, see this guide. Dye-Based
Quantity in Pack 1
Shimmer No
Size – Height 6.6 cm / 2.6 inches
Size – Length 6.7 cm / 2.6 inches
Size – Width 4.2 cm / 1.7 inches
Usage Dip Pens, Fountain Pens
Water-Resistant No
Weight – Item Without Packaging i

For a product that contains more than one of the same item, this is the weight of one single item.

5.92 oz / 168 grams

There are currently no questions.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



I must contradict the previous review of this ink. I have used Parker Quink for
quite some time it has a deep black color and dries relatively quickly. The
lines are sometimes a bit watery, but not to the extent of many other inks I
have used. Perhaps this previous reviewer got a lemon or something strange,
because from my perspective this is a solid buy. Try it out for yourself.

9 people found this helpful

The pen is a very good…

The pen is a very good low-end ink. I will probably make sure I always have a
bottle of this around at least for backup! The colour is, as others have
mentioned, slightly off (mine is slightly purple, like around the rim in the
photos), but is only noticeable when I write a very fine line, writing lightly
with an eastern fine nib. The ink dries very nicely, and about as nice as some
better ballpoints I’ve used, but pales in comparison to some truly black inks.

I would recommend this ink to anyone who just needs to write specifically to
write, not to look perfect and bold.

3 people found this helpful

I use Quink in my vintage…

I use Quink in my vintage Parker 21 and it writes beautifully. The ink lays
onto the paper without skipping or thinning out.

3 people found this helpful

July 19, 2016

Verified Purchase

This is awesome ink. I use it mostly to doodle with a brush. The color can go
from black to almost brassy. This is the first water soluble ink I’ve played
with, I’m glad I went with a product that had been around forever.

2 people found this helpful

Good black ink. I keep…

May 24, 2016

Verified Purchase

Good black ink. I keep several bottles on hand. My everyday black ink.

2 people found this helpful

|ct_55|ct_1779|ct_1787|

Parker 1950375 Quink Ink Bottle, Black, 57 ml

A little over a year ago I switched to refillable fountain pens because I wanted to reduce plastic waste. I love my Pilot Metropolitan pens – one with a fine nib, one with a medium nib. I’m no expert, but these pens have done perfectly well for me thus far.

When it comes to ink, though, I was still using the prefilled plastic cartridges, which might be saving a tiny bit on plastic waste, but was kind of counteracting my efforts. I knew I wanted to eventually use bottled ink, so I had already bought one of those converters with the screw top. I just needed some ink.

I found this ink promoted by an eco-influencer, and I trusted that her experience using it as a left-hander – with NO smearing! – meant that my right-handed journaling would be no issue. Wrong-o! Maybe the manufacturer changed the ink formulation. Maybe I got a cheap counterfeit or something. I will never know, because I will never buy this ink again. It smears immediately, and it smears after 3 seconds (which others seemed to say was a fair test). It also smeared after 10 seconds. I have no idea how long “quick” is supposed to be in the quick-dry claims, but this is horrible by comparison to the Pilot brand ink in plastic cartridges that I was using previously.

Not only does it smear, but the ink does not flow very easily through my pen. It’s super watery and makes the pen scratch on the page. Writing is therefore inconsisent. And it’s not a dark black – it’s sheer. This stuff makes me feel like I’m writing with a quill, which some might love, but is not at all the writing experience I prefer.

On the one hand, I guess this ink is supposed to be washable if you get it on stuff. I immediately got it all over my hands, and it did wash out – 3 days later. From other reviewers, it looks like it works great for staining things and watercolor painting – but that doesn’t seem to be what the average buyer wants it for.

So it’s a sheer ink that doesn’t flow well through the nib and smears even after waiting quite a while – which means it’s exactly the opposite of all the advertised claims. Unfortunately, I give this 1 star, and now I have a whole lot of it. If there were an option to give it 0 or negative stars, I would.

parker quink blue black — Seize the Dave

(click to embiggen)

Parker Quink Permanent Blue Black is a workhorse of an ink that I’m sorry I waited this long to try out. First developed in the late 1920’s, it was regarded as a revolutionary ink that eliminated the need for blotting. It remains, to this day, one of the most popular fountain pen inks in production.

Parker’s version of blue-black is moderately saturated and allows for a modicum of shading in a fine nib. It is not the color I think of when I think of blue-black, however. I see it as more of a medium teal-blue. On ivory or off-white paper, the teal tones show through even more prominently than on white paper. It is also a bit of a dry writer. On each paper, the nibs I tested wrote true to size, if not slightly smaller.

Blue-black is the first Parker Quink (a portmanteau of “quick” and “ink”) in my collection, and I now understand why it is so popular. It is one of the best behaving inks I’ve ever used. I tested it on five different papers: cheap copier paper, Staples “Sustainable Earth” bagasse, a Moleskine notebook, an Ecosystem notebook, and a Rhodia webbie.

On every single paper I tested, I saw no trace of feathering, a low level of show-through, and no bleed-through at all. Drying times varied a bit – from 3 seconds on the copier paper; to 8 seconds on the bagasse, Moleskine, and Ecosystem; to 12 seconds on the Rhodia – but they all fell well within the normal range for each paper.

(click to embiggen)

For an ink labeled as permanent, though, it is anything but waterproof. The smear test, in which I drag a wet finger across the page, produced a lovely teal smudge which obliterated any trace of the underlying line. The drip test, in which I let a drop of water sit on the paper for a minute before blotting, lifted a significant amount of ink from the page.

The soak test, in which I run the paper under a stream of water, washed away nearly all the ink. The faintest trace of a line was left – the ghost of inks past, I suppose – but not enough to be legible. To be fair, the “permanent” label exists only to contrast with the “washable” label of their blue ink, which is specifically designed to be easily removed from one’s hands. Still, I wouldn’t address an envelope with it, especially if one’s destination is in Atlantis.

(click to embiggen)

Parker Quink comes in a solid, sturdy 2 oz. bottle, which is a perfectly pleasant. It’s neither ugly nor utilitarian, but it is a bit conservative, as befits the ink it holds. It won’t look out of place on the desk of anyone that wears a Brooks Brothers’ suit to work (present company included), but it might seem a tad archaic on the shelf of a modern, bohemian artist.

I suspect that the primary audience for Parker Quink Blue Black is business, as it is a slightly conservative ink that is designed to be used all day, every day. It is also perfectly acceptable for personal correspondence and journaling, as it is easy to read and easy to use on a wide variety of paper. It will write anywhere with nary an objection, and it rinses out of pens without any issues.

Parker Quink Blue Black is a solid ink that is a tremendous value for the price. If you’re looking for an inexpensive, well-behaved, daily use ink, then this is an excellent candidate. If you’re looking for something flashy or bold, then look elsewhere.

Review materials: For the wide strokes, I used three calligraphy pens: Pilot Parallel 6.0mm and 3.8mm pens, and a 2.0mm Pelikan Script. All three have steel nibs. For the fine strokes, I used a TWSBI EF steel nib on a TWSBI Diamond 530. The paper is Rhodia 80g from a No. 18 notepad.

Parker Quink Blue Black is available from:

The Story Behind Parker Quink Fountain Pen Ink – KSGILLS.com

Writing is a form of transmitting information through textual media using a set of signs and symbols which is known as the writing system. Throughout history, writing has been a mode of communication which probably resulted from the consequence of political expansion. According to H.G. Wells, writing has the ability to “put agreements, laws, commandments on record. It made the growth of states larger than the old city states possible. It made a continuous historical consciousness possible. The command of the priest or king and his seal could go far beyond his sight and voice and could survive his death”.

 

Today, we are more adept to communicate one another through the use of internet, cellphones, telephone, etc. We convey our “written” messages through social media and/or emails. If we need a concrete copy, we may be able to print the message with ease. However, we still employ the original concept of writing using pen and paper. Today, we utilize different types and designs of pen depending on the material or project we work for. But one of a pen’s characteristics is having an ink, whatever type it may be.

 

Before ballpoint pens (pens we commonly use today) came into being, the famous fountain pen was marketed. Maybe your parents and grandparents know about how beautiful these pens are. Its difference to ballpoint pen is that its a nib pen that contains an internal reservoir of water-based liquid ink. It draws ink from the reservoir through a feed to the nib and deposits it on paper via a combination of gravity and capillary action. Filling the reservoir with ink may be achieved manually or via an internal filling mechanism which creates suction to transfer ink directly through the nib into the reservoir. Some pens employ removable reservoirs in the form of pre-filled ink cartridges. A fountain pen needs little or no pressure to write. 

The PARKER 51 fountain pen with the marketing slogan:
“Writes dry with wet ink!”

Today, fountain pens are often treated as luxury goods and sometimes as status symbols because they are expensive. Fountain pens may serve as an everyday writing instrument also much like the common ballpoint pen. Good quality steel and gold pens are available inexpensively today, particularly in Europe and China, where there are “disposable” fountain pens. such as the Pilot Varsity. In France, in particular, the use of fountain pens is well spread.

 

Fountain pens ink

 

Because fountain pens operate on the principle of capillary action, ink for them is almost exclusively dye-based. Pigment-based inks (which contain solid pigment particles in a liquid suspension) tend to clog the narrow passages of the pens. Some pigmented inks do exist for fountain pens, but these are uncommon. India ink, a carbon pigment-based ink, also contains a binder (such as shellac), which can quickly clog such pens. The ideal fountain pen ink is free-flowing, free of sediment, and non-corrosive. These qualities may be compromised in the interests of permanence, manufacturability, and in order to use some widely available dyes.

 

A form of ink that pre–dates fountain pens by centuries is Iron gall ink. This blue–black ink is made from iron salts and tannic acids from vegetable sources. It was used in fountain pens when they were invented, but has the disadvantage of causing corrosion to metal parts. Modern formulations of Iron gall ink are somewhat less corrosive and are still occasionally used in applications that require permanence.

 

Red inks usually contain the dye, Eosin. Blue inks often contain Triarylmethane dye. In addition to water, the non-dye components (collectively referred to as the vehicle) might include, polymeric resins, humectants to retard premature drying, pH modifiers, anti-foaming agents and biocides, to prevent fungal and bacterial growth, and wetting agents (surfactants). Surfactants reduce the surface tension of the ink – distilled water has a surface tension of 72 dyn/cm (72 × 10−3 N/m) but the desirable value for ink is between 38 and 45 dyn/cm (38 to 45 × 10−3 N/m). If the ink’s surface tension was too high, then it would not flow through the pen; if it was too low, then the ink would run out of the pen with less control.

 

Filipino: part of fountain pen’s ink development

 

But do you know that a Filipino was a part of the fountain pens development? Francisco Quisumbing is a Filipino chemist known for being the inventor of Quink ink used by The Parker Pen Company. He graduated from the University of Chicago under the American pensionado program. He went back to the Philippines after World War II but was unable to organize the Philippine Ink Corporation under the Japanese Reparations Program because of too much government intervention. Quink stands for Quisumbing Ink. However, Parker states that the name is an amalgam of “quick and ink”.

 

The Quink

 

Quink was first marketed in 1931. The resulting product was strongly alkaline and contained isopropyl alcohol, a solvent not previously used in inks. At that time, most pen barrels and caps were manufactured using pyralin, which was often damaged by the alcohol contained in Quink. This problem eventually led to the development of the successful fountain pen, the Parker 51. A common misconception about Quink is that it was intended to be the ideal ink for the Parker 51, which generated over 400 million dollars in sales during its thirty-year history. The Parker 51 pen was the only pen of the time capable of using Quink effectively. However, the Parker 51 was only made available in 1941, ten years after Quink’s development. Quink features the following useful characteristics that made it a successful ink for fountain pens:

  • it resisted water
  • it did not clog
  • it had the desired quality of ink flow
  • it resisted moulding
  • it was non-corrosive
  • it did not leave deposits
  • it did not fade
  • it was quick-drying
Parker’s Quink ink bottle

Quink was manufactured in four colors: India Black, Pan American Green, China Red and the famous Tunis Blue. It was sold in bottles made by the Armstrong Cork Company, Lancaster, PA. The bottles were designed with a low centre of gravity to prevent tipping. The ink was to have several improvements over the years; an even quicker-drying product appeared in 1939 called “Double Quink.” It included a further refinement in the addition of the chemical SOLV-X which dissolved sediment and cleaned the pen when writing.

 

In 1941, when the Parker 51 was launched, Double Quink was renamed and repackaged as “Parker 51 ink” for marketing purposes. Parker’s ink sales became the key to maintaining the company’s profitability. Further enhancements were made to Parker inks and the company subsequently introduced “Superchrome” ink, proclaimed as revolutionary by the manufacturer. “Superchrome” ink was marketed in 1947 after a seventeen-year research period that cost over USD$200,000. Parker marketed the product as the “first basic ink improvement in over 250 years” that offered near-instant drying, greater “brilliance” (or brightness) and availability in a wider selection of colors. Regular Quink is not waterproof, unlike India ink. If paper that has been written on becomes wet, black ink will run and separate into blue and yellow components.

 

The Quink today

 

Quink remains a popular ink product and was described as a “great all around ink” in an online fountain pen ink review. According to fountain pen enthusiasts, Parker Quink is generally considered to be “safe fountain pen ink”; this means that it should not stain or clog fountain pens very easily.

 

The use of fountain pens gradually decreased during the second half of the twentieth century. Consequently, Parker 51 ink was phased out in the United Kingdom (UK) in 1972 and the US in 1978. However, a large worldwide network of collectors and enthusiasts continue to use the Parker 51 pen in the twenty-first century, with a limited edition of the model (available in two colors, “Vista Blue” and black) released by Parker in 2002. As part of the 2002 product revival, Parker promoted its quick-drying ink as the ideal accompaniment for the Parker 51.

Ink Overview: Waterman Inks – The Well-Appointed Desk

After the enthusiastic reception of last week’s overview of the classic ink brand Sheaffer, it seemed appropriate to continue the series and follow it up with a Desk favorite, Waterman. Waterman has been making pens since 1883 and probably started making ink about the same time.

I can’t find specific details but the current bottle design has been used since the 1920s and 30s with slight variations. The faceted gemstone look of the bottle allows the bottle to be tipped onto its side to make it easier to get ink out as the ink levels begin to get lower. It’s one of my favorite ink bottles.

Waterman offers just eight colors in its ink line up. Of those eight colors, the names have changed over time but the colors have remained fairly consistent both in range and hue. The swatches shown above may show earlier names (i.e. Havana Brown which is now called Absolute Brown) but the ink colors are the same. I got into fountain pens just as Waterman was changing the ink names so I have had bottles with new and older names. The ink colors did not change. Waterman just updated the label designs and the names.

Honestly, I think they should have hired someone from a nail polish company to give these lovely colors poppier names. Maybe Tender Purple should be called “Did You Do It on Purple?” and Inspired Blue could be “Pen Life Aquatic”? Okay… maybe these names need work but they are certainly more worthy of these pretty colors than “Harmonious Green” which is the lamest name ever.

When you see how much these inks sheen, is it fair to give them such humdrum names? I don’t think so. Six out of the eight colors in the line sheen. Tender Purple, Inspired Blue, Harmonious Green and Serenity Blue are the most likely to sheen. Depending on your paper, Audacious Red and Mysterious Blue will sheen too.

When you add the that fact that these inks are safe for vintage fountain pens and the prices per bottle is very reasonable ($11.30 per 50ml bottle) and what’s not to love?

Okay, I’ll give you more reasons…

Let’s compare each Waterman ink color with other similar inks. I’ll start with a color I initially didn’t like but have grown to love. It’s Waterman Harmonious Green. Again, I was thrown by the name. It’s not GREEN as I expected it to be and when I put it next to other similar swatches, it becomes clear that Harmonious Green is actually more of an aqua or a teal green than an actual Kelly or grass green. I think if the color had been named Jade Green or Jadeite it would probably be much more popular. Harmonious Green is quite similar to similarly-priced Kaweco Paradise Blue and the more expensive Pelikan Edelstein Jade. Pilot Iroshizuku Shin Ryoku, De Atramentis Petrol and Kobe #47 are all slightly more green but just by a tiny bit. So, I think Waterman (in my mind) Jadeite Green is in very good company.

Waterman Audacious Red shows some sheen which is similar the limited edition Franklin-Christoph ’19. The sheen in Audacious Red is not quite as pronounced and a little darker but the hue is quite similar. Seeing as how the Franklin-Christoph ’19 ink is harder to acquire than a pen show in 2020 (too soon for this joke?), Audacious Red is a good option. I included a swatch of Pelikan Edelstein Garnet which is slightly more orange and Diamine Matador and Red Dragon which are both slightly darker reds and Robert Oster Red Candy which is almost as dark as Red Dragon but not quite.

Waterman Serenity Blue (again, the name is not fitting for the beauty of the color) is very similar to both Lamy Blue and Pilot Blue. These three inks, while simple in name are classic, workhorse ink colors. They are less saturated than the three inks shown on the right: Monteverde Sapphire, Pilot Iroshizuku Asa-Gao and Monteverde 2018 DC Supershow Blue. Asa-Gao is the closest to Serenity Blue while the two Monteverde inks are deeper and darker.

We’ve had several debates as to whether Waterman Obsession Blue and Inspired Blue are the same color. I’m inclined to believe they are but just bottled with different labels. There are only slight differences in the swatches I have from my bottle (labelled Obsession Blue) and the swatches I have from my sample vial (labelled Inspired Blue) that can be chalked up to the amount of ink I put on the paper as much as to the color of the ink. That said, the comparison inks for Waterman’s turquoise ink are very similar to the inks I pulled for Sheaffer last week, including Sheaffer Turquoise.

Just for giggles, here’s the photo from the Sheaffer ink overview from last week. The colors I picked were: Sheaffer Turquoise, J. Herbin Bleu Pervenche, Lamy Pacific Blue, Franklin-Christoph Spanish Blue, Monteverde Caribbean Blue. Yep. All the same swatches.

While we are rehashing how similar some of the Waterman inks are to Sheaffer, I’ll go through the black ink swatches too. Waterman Intense Black is a solid performing water soluble black ink. This week I divided the black ink comparison with three cool/neutral blacks on the left and three slightly warmer blacks on the right. The cool/neutral blacks are from top to bottom on the left: Monteverde Coal Noir, Sheaffer Black and Platinum Carbon Black (being the only waterproof black included). On the right, from top to bottom: Lamy Crystal Obsidian, Waterman Instense Black and Kaweco Pearl Black. Both Waterman and Sheaffer Black are safe for vintage pens so my advice is to pick one and buy a bottle because everyone needs a bottle of black ink. If you are brave enough to own a waterproof black, then definitely add a bottle of Platinum Carbon Black to your shopping list. That should round out your black ink needs quite handily. If you want to experiment with other blacks, the world is your black pearl oyster. There are so many options to choose from!

Waterman Absolute Brown (shown above as Havana Brown) is a warm, reddish brown. The closest ink comparison I could find was J. Herbin Terre de Feu though it is slightly more orange. Lamy Crystal Topaz is similar in hue but the sheen throws off the appearance of the color on some papers. Absolute Brown shades but does not sheen.

I was surprised how difficult it was to find a good ink match to Waterman Mysterious Blue. Truly mysterious, wouldn’t you agree? It is an ink color that is slightly darker than the brilliant blue of Sailor Sky High but not as dark as Parker Quink Blue-Black or Colorverse 03 Saturn V. It’s definitely not a blue-black ink and much more of a true blue, maybe a bright, clean denim blue?

Tender Purple has a similar color and hue as Lamy Crystal Azurite but not quite as much sheen as Azurite. Coloverse 53 Hayabusa is similar in hue but with considerably less sheen. The only other inks I could find that were similar to Tender Purple are shown on the right and are more purple in color than the actual VIOLET color that Tender Purple actually is. I don’t want to get all “Well, ACTUALLY…” but knowing color is kind of my job. Tender Purple is violet, not purple. and Callifolio Violet is purple. These people are killing me with their poorly inaccurate naming. Either be ridiculously charming and clever or extremely accurate, please.

All-in-all, Waterman is my favorite classic ink. I love the gemstone shaped bottles. I recommend Inspired Blue and Tender Purple often at pen shows to folks looking for a “fun color” for their vintage pens but I don’t think Serenity Blue or Inspired Blue should be overlooked either for their striking colors. And Harmonious Green, despite its name is the Jadeite you’re been looking for. Intense Black and Absolute Brown really do round out an ink collection if you don’t already have a good black and brown in your collection. I know we all get blinders on looking for the newest, hottest, fanciest new ink colors but these classics have stayed classic for a reason.


Tools:

DISCLAIMER: The items included in this review were provided free of charge by Vanness Pen Shop for the purpose of review. Please see the About page for more details.

Like this:

Like Loading…

You might also enjoy:

The Cheapest (Good) Fountain Pen Ink

Unsharpen may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site.

Fountain pen ink doesn’t have to be expensive. Today fountain pens might seem like a luxury good, but let’s not forget that not too long ago they were the standard writing tool used by millions upon millions of people worldwide. Those people weren’t using luxury inks with delicate undertones, they were using dependable, afford inks.

Well guess what? Those afford inks still exist.

Good, Cheap Ink From Top Brands

These inks are sorted from cheapest to most expensive, based on their price-per-milliliter. Prices were checked in July 2020, from the United States, using mainstream online resellers.

Pelikan 4001

Pelikan 4001 series inks are some of the best everyday inks made today, but did you know that the 50 ml bottle you commonly find it in isn’t the most economical way to buy it? That’s right you can buy Brilliant Blue and other great Pelikan 4001 inks in 1 liter containers.

Price per ml: 5.6 cents

(Currently Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Blue is $56.01 for 1000 ml)

350 ml of Pilot ink

Pilot Blue Black, Black or Red

Pilot’s huge 350 ml bottle of Blue Black ink is the king of cheap, mainstream ink. Sold under model INK350BB, you can get this ink for about $25, or much cheaper in Japan. This is solid, reliable, good-looking ink that will keep you happy through the whole bottle. And 7x the size of a normal large bottle of ink you should have this one through many months of writing.

While most people prefer the Blue Black, these large bottles are also sold in black (INK350B) and red (INK350R).

Price per ml: 7.1 cents

(Currently Pilot Blue Black is $25.00 for 350 ml)

Diamine Inks

Diamine inks can range from a good deal to an insanely good one, depending on where you live. Buyers in the UK will have a big advantage over the rest of the world because that’s where the ink is made and where it’s the cheapest, but it’s still an OK deal elsewhere.

Assuming you are in the UK, or really Europe at large, you can get Diamine for really affordable prices, so while this is a limited deal, it’s still worth knowing about for local and travelers.

Price per ml: 9.8 cents

(Currently £2.35 for 30 ml, including VAT)

Noodler’s Inks

Noodler’s has a huge array of ink colors, almost all of which offer serious value. Typically you can get a 3.0 oz bottle for about $13 or a 4.5 oz one for about $18. Some colors will be more expensive than others, but so long as you don’t need anything specialty (like fluorescent or glow-in-the-dark) you’ll be able to find a color you and it might even be pigmented as well, if that’s your preference.

Price per ml: 12.6 cents

(Currently Heart of Darkness is $16.76 for 133 ml)

Sheaffer Skrip

Sheaffer Skrip ink, like the Parker Quink that it has often competed with, is another solid, longstanding ink. Skrip inks are often cheaper in Europe as well, as they are made in Slovenia. The ink sells for about $10.50 for 50 ml in the US, but about half that in Europe, making for a very solid value.

Back in the day this ink was sold in 2 oz and huge 32 oz bottles, but sadly those are no longer sold.

Price per ml: 13.1 cents

(Currently £5.25 for 50 ml at Cult Pens)

Parker Quink

While it’s not sold in 1 liter bottles, Parker’s Quink fountain pen ink is available in a 2 oz (59 ml) size that offers a lot of value given just how good this ink is. The 2 fluid oz. bottle will normally cost you about $10 and you’ll be able to find it in any color, so long as it’s blue or black that you want.

Price per ml: 17.3 cents

(Currently Washable Blue is $9.90 for 59 ml)

Waterman Inks

Waterman has a selection of their standard inks, all of which are excellent workhorse inks. Despite Waterman’s storied history the inks aren’t fancy or luxury goods, just solid everyday writers. Waterman’s main colors: Intense Black, Serenity Blue, Mysterious Blue, and Inspired Blue will typically range from $9.99 to $12.50 for 50 ml when purchased online.

Price per ml: 20.0 cents

(Currently Intense Black is $9.99 for 50 ml)

Cheap Ink From Other Brands

If you are willing to get adventurous with you inks then you can really find some cheap ink. These aren’t inks we’ve personally tested (with Hero being the main exception) or would recommend, but they are out there and there are some really quite cheap.

On marketplaces like AliExpress you can find ink for under 1 cent per milliliter, a price that is significantly cheaper than anything you’d see from the brands above. That said, these inks are coming from brands you don’t know and may damage your pen, eat through your paper, or who know what else. We recommend staying far away from nameless ink vendors, but if you want to experiment with super cheap inks, here are some options that people around the fountain pen community have tested and recommended.

  • Oaso
  • Camlyn
  • Hero
    • The most recommended color is 232 Blue Black
    • Expect to spend around $6.50 for 60 ml (10.8 cents per ml)
  • Brill
  • Daytone
    • Another popular Indian brand. The most recommended color is Blue Black

Parker Quink Ink 57 ml (blue) S0037470 / 1950376

Price: 695 r.

Sold out !

Notify when on sale:

Manufacturer: Parker

Article: S0037470 / 1950376

Ink color: blue




Reviews about the pen Ink Parker Quink 57 ml

Felix , 07.04.2014

Excellent ink. With frequent use, the jar lasted for 2 years: no sediment on the bottom (unlike “Rainbow”). They dry quickly on paper, and do not dry surprisingly long at the tip of the pen. Still, blue on plain paper loses its saturation slightly over time.

Sergey , 06.11.2014

Bottom sediment? Somehow you can be patient with a price difference of 20 times.

Georgy , 03/20/2015

The color of this ink seemed bleak and lifeless to me. Although other performance characteristics are good.

Artem , 08.04.2015

I didn’t really like the color of the ink either, it was dirty, or something, lifeless.

Sergey , 04.10.2016

This color is like classical music – not everyone understands and not everyone likes it. But if he is dear, it will become obvious that he is very noble and aristocratic.
In terms of quality, Parker is Parker … Well, for example: On such paper, where some ink gets wet on the back side, Quink does not give a similar result, even with abundant feed.

Dmitry , 27.04.2019

Used this ink with Leonardt Steno flexible pointed nib. After each use, the pen was washed, never left stained with ink. After about three weeks, the nib was etched and became copper-colored, a white coating (probably metal salt) formed on the underside, which holds the ink well, but does not give it away. As a result, the ink supply has stopped. I threw the pen away. I have five new nibs, each of which I tested with this ink, washed, dried and put in a box.Then I decided to examine them and found light traces of corrosion from this ink on all of them. I used to fill fountain pens with gold nibs with them – the gold plating holds up this ink and the steel nibs of Soviet pens too, but calligraphy nibs die from them.

Write a Review about Parker Quink Ink 57ml (Blue)

90,000 Where to find ink information

There are many sources, but most of them are in English. Russian speakers are mainly on the ElitePen forum.

On this site

About similar


ElitePen.ru

Ink – everything about ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1385

By manufacturers

Akkerman http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7048
ANT.ONE http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11900
Aurora http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic. php?t=12921
CROSS http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4198
De-Atramentis http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6439
Diamine http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7568
ESSRI http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic. php? t = 6998
inFORMAT (aka Stats-Profi, aka Office Space) http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8862
J. Herbin http: //www.elitepen. ru / forum / viewtopic.php? t = 6460
Koh-i-Noor http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7477
Montblanc document ink http://www.elitepen.ru/ forum / viewtopic.php? t = 9623
Montblanc inks http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5374
Monteverde http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11363
Noodler’s Ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic .php? t = 6449
Parker Quink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7457
Pelikan 4001 http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7570
Pelikan Edelstein http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7615
Penbbs http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6590
Platinum http: // www .elitepen.ru / forum / viewtopic.php? t = 5763
Pilot Iroshizuku – color palette http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9906
Rohrer & Klingner http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php? t = 6559
PRIVATE RESERVE http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5715
Scribal Work Shop http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6416
Thornton’s Luxury Goods http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12604
Waterman http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3135
Rare, vintage, ancient ink http : // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6935
Homemade ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7573
About domestic ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum /viewtopic.php?t=1970

By color

We mix ink, we get new colors http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7269
What is the main ink color they write in different countries http://www. elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php ? t = 9068
Ink color and era http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7597
Every hunter wants to know … – mini-ink reviews http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9437
Glossy ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8526
How to lighten ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum /viewtopic.php?t=8002
Ink color and mood http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6913
Ink. Component colors. http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5926

Gray
– Say about gray ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10556
Black
– Black ink – a classic of the genre http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10433
– “Blackest” black ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6799
Purple
– Review of some purple ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8003
Blue
– Just blue ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7689
– Blue ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7468
– Blue permanent ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php? t = 12051
– Montblanc Midnight Blue Ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9585
– Can Black + Blue Parker Ink be mixed? http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6498
– Ink – cobalt color http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7203
Blue
– Cyan and turquoise ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12055
Green
– Green ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6839
Yellow
– Yellow and orange ink http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9599
– Montblanc created gold ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12160
Red
– Red ink http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6884
– Red Montegrappa pen ink http://www. elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9352
– Bloody ink or ink http : //www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php? t = 8121
Brown
– Brown ink is a symbol of fertility.http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6824
– Ink question http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6694

By properties

Lightfastness of ink and pastes http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3965
Ink with good fluidity http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8023
Eternal ink and paper http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7646
Help with the choice of ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8011
Ink with which don’t use http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4696
Ink with high viscosity (low fluidity) http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6616
“Minitest” behavior of ink on different papers http : //www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php? t = 6797
Dry ink. Does this exist in nature? http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5591
Ink viscosity. Does such a thing exist? http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4681
Ink expiration date. http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php? t = 5379
Water resistance of ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1476
Ink for the Boss – how to sign http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php? t = 12300
Separation of ink into fractions during storage http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12252
Drawing ink? http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13309
Inscription in ultraviolet in ink http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12728
Ink in a pair for a capricious pen http: // www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13592

Storing and Carrying

Carrying ink with you. http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1549
Ink shelf http://www.elitepen.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7675

Share link:

Similar

90,000 PARKER in dates. Important moments in history

1889

Parker introduces its first fountain pen.

1894

The company’s first significant technological breakthrough is the patenting of the revolutionary Lucky Curve ink delivery system.

1898

The shape of the cap is patented. The following year, Parker introduced its most successful synergy, the continuous writing pen.

1900

Parker patents a cap clip – for safer storage of pens.

1926

The company began using the extremely tough Permanite plastics alloys based on the use of volcanic rubber.

1921 – Duofold series produced

A new era in the world of Parker pens began with the release of the innovative Parker Duofold, or BIG RED.
This marked a new milestone in the history of the Parker Pen Company. The body of the pen is painted red-orange, which reflects the fashion trends and trends of those years. The Parker Duofold is a stylish accessory that embodies the latest technological advances in the early 20th century, with BIG RED prices reaching $ 7 per piece. This price was higher than that of other pens, but the popularity of the Duofold had little effect, and the demand for it only increased. In addition, the manufacturer made a special marketing strategy: for each such pen there was a 25-year warranty! That also served as an indicator of the good quality of the products.

1899

Filigree gold pens with Lucky Curve ink supply system

1905 – Black Giant

Large pen – a fashion statement and a response to the increased demand for large format pens.

1906 – Snake Pen

The pens are made of sterling silver and gold, in the style of Art Nouveau

1914 – Trench

This pen contains ink balls that only needed to be diluted with water. The unique handle design allowed soldiers to refill the handle without getting out of the trenches.

1916 – Jack Knife Safety Pen

Handle with new cap allowing for safer storage without leaks.

1921 – Parker Duofold

A reliable and fashionable start handle, subordinated to the mood of the “roaring” 20s. The handle is known as “Big Red” due to its vibrant orange color.

1939 – Parker 51

An elegant, streamlined pen with a nib design that dries immediately when it touches the paper.

1956 – Parker 61

The first auto-fill pen – it was enough to pull a certain part of the cartridge to fill the pen with ink through a special capillary

1931 – Quink Ink

Invented after numerous experiments.

1933 – Parker Vacumatic

Pen with double ink filling mechanism. The ink capacity is 2 times larger than the Duofold pen.EXPERIENCING PARKER Parker in Dates Important Points

1954 – Jotter Ball

Although the ballpoint pen was introduced in the mid-1940s, Parker was slow to bring an unreliable product to market. After deep research and technological improvements, the Jotter

ballpoint pen was introduced to the market.

1960 – Parker 45

First pen using cartridge. Named after the Colt 45 caliber pistol. The principle is “put the cartridge in and use”.1982 Creation of the PARKER Vector rollerball pen with a cartridge filled with liquid ink.

1993 – Sonnet

The classic pen – a fusion of popular elements and cutting edge technology.

2001

The Inflection series was added to the assortment, and the Ellipse line was expanded with the addition of a roller and a mechanical pencil.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *