Cotton on size review: Cotton On | ProductReview.com.au

Security | Glassdoor

We have been receiving some suspicious activity from you or someone sharing your internet network. Please wait while we verify that you’re a real person. Your content will appear shortly. If you continue to see this message, please email to let us know you’re having trouble.

Nous aider à garder Glassdoor sécurisée

Nous avons reçu des activités suspectes venant de quelqu’un utilisant votre réseau internet. Veuillez patienter pendant que nous vérifions que vous êtes une vraie personne. Votre contenu apparaîtra bientôt. Si vous continuez à voir ce message, veuillez envoyer un email à pour nous informer du désagrément.

Unterstützen Sie uns beim Schutz von Glassdoor

Wir haben einige verdächtige Aktivitäten von Ihnen oder von jemandem, der in ihrem Internet-Netzwerk angemeldet ist, festgestellt. Bitte warten Sie, während wir überprüfen, ob Sie ein Mensch und kein Bot sind. Ihr Inhalt wird in Kürze angezeigt.

Wenn Sie weiterhin diese Meldung erhalten, informieren Sie uns darüber bitte per E-Mail: .

We hebben verdachte activiteiten waargenomen op Glassdoor van iemand of iemand die uw internet netwerk deelt. Een momentje geduld totdat we hebben bevestigd dat u daadwerkelijk een persoon bent. Uw bijdrage zal spoedig te zien zijn. Als u deze melding blijft zien, e-mail ons: om ons te laten weten dat uw probleem zich nog steeds voordoet.

Hemos estado detectando actividad sospechosa tuya o de alguien con quien compartes tu red de Internet. Espera mientras verificamos que eres una persona real. Tu contenido se mostrará en breve. Si continúas recibiendo este mensaje, envía un correo electrónico a para informarnos de que tienes problemas.

Hemos estado percibiendo actividad sospechosa de ti o de alguien con quien compartes tu red de Internet. Espera mientras verificamos que eres una persona real. Tu contenido se mostrará en breve. Si continúas recibiendo este mensaje, envía un correo electrónico a para hacernos saber que estás teniendo problemas.

Temos recebido algumas atividades suspeitas de você ou de alguém que esteja usando a mesma rede. Aguarde enquanto confirmamos que você é uma pessoa de verdade. Seu conteúdo aparecerá em breve. Caso continue recebendo esta mensagem, envie um email para para nos informar sobre o problema.

Abbiamo notato alcune attività sospette da parte tua o di una persona che condivide la tua rete Internet. Attendi mentre verifichiamo che sei una persona reale. Il tuo contenuto verrà visualizzato a breve. Se continui a visualizzare questo messaggio, invia un’e-mail all’indirizzo per informarci del problema.

Please enable Cookies and reload the page.

This process is automatic. Your browser will redirect to your requested content shortly.

Please allow up to 5 seconds…

Redirecting…

Code: CF-102 / 69ab090ecdf83595

Cotton-On Bras Review *honest opinions*

Cotton-On bras have been calling my name ever since I first laid my green eyes on them on Instagram. Ever since that first day, I have had the hardest time resisting buying these. Telling myself I don’t need them, you don’t need to splurge. And so, I regret not buying them sooner because these bras are the bomb dot com….for everything but exercising. Who knew that some well-designed and fabricated bralettes could make a girl this happy. I tell ya, and I wouldn’t lie to you either. This brings me to my full Cotton-On bras review…

Honest Cotton-On Bras Review

How it Started

Nigel Austin, who is the founder of Cotton On, made a donation to a healthcare community in Mannya, South Africa that started his journey!

As he dug in, he found that most of the population had been demolished by the HIV outbreak, which wiped dang near the entire community causing famine. Nigel decided that education may be a start to the solutions for this country. If it wasn’t for himself, and many charitable donors/customers, there wouldn’t have been as great an impact.

Every purchase counts. Every person counts.

Cotton-On Foundation

What’s cool about this company is that 100% of the proceeds go to the kiddos over seas. Cotton-On believes every child should have a future and a chance to change the world. Honestly, if you don’t believe in that, what do you believe in?

Cotton-On foundation raises funds to support countries with quality education for the kids in South Africa, Uganda, Thailand, and Australia. While doing this, they are trying to reduce poverty and improve the needs of people across the globe.

Why I ordered

My straightforward response is that I was influenced by the kk_fit_ girls on Instagram. They gave a raving review on how comfortable and supportive they are. They came in super cute colors that flattered the skin tone, and I just HAD to jump on the bandwagon.

These two girls are identical twins that are fitness icons in my eyes. They have been training different styles for about 6 years and have finally found a way that works to compliment their bodies. Not only fitness, but fashion is hugely represented in their worlds. AKA these bras (sorry long backstory).

Cotton On Bralettes

Let’s dive into the details as to why these bras are popular, and find out my personal opinion. First of all the color. I ordered lilac, olive, and white. Olive is one of my very favorite colors, and this color flatters my skin tone so well. Lilac was my next purchase because who doesn’t love purple! I went with white because it is a staple color for anyone’s wardrobe.

My initial thought was how easy and comfortable they fit on my skin. They have adjustable straps in the back to tighten or loosen to desired measure. The bras are ribbed and very soft. No extra padding in the front to remove (I always remove the bra pads…I find them uncomfortable).

I am a 32-34C in most bras and bralettes, which equates to a size medium. Some how, by the grace of the bra gods, I could have ordered a small. If the small would not fit, then my boobs just can’t hang with these bras.

Let me explain. I got the impression that the Cotton-on bras are supportive enough to exercise in. I’m obviously easily influenced and blind HAHA. The kkfit girls boobs are rather small so go figure they can workout in them!

My breasts, however, aren’t big by any means but aren’t small. So they are falling out when I bend over the gym. I tested each bra and each bra failed me. I tightened the straps dang near tighter than I would any other bra.

Unfortunately, exercising in these Cotton-on bras are a no go for me. I was hopeful, but painfully let down. Ok not painfully, but some happy soul at the gym may have gotten a brief show every time a girl popped out to say hi!

Cotton-on bra costs

I was fortunate to have purchased at the right time because there was a 2 for $20 deal. Some of the items are still the same way, but if you purchase separately, they are $12.99. Honestly still not bad at all.

With the purchases I made, the lilac, olive, and both white bra/top made the cut for the 2 for $20.

Some colors are actually on sale for $5 so hurry hurry hurry! I still value that I only spent $40 bucks plus shipping on 4 items. Quality with a low price is a win for anyone in my opinion!!

Cotton-on Crop Top

This is the only non-bra I purchased with my order. She is a daring white crop top that I oh-so desired for my wardrobe. Who doesn’t need a basic white crop tee? *cough cough* I meant tank?

The white crop tank is another not so suppportive bra for active activities, but she looked real cute over the top of a sports bra with criss-crossed designs in the backside. Also, this top looked great being paired with some black denim jeans and a green olive jacket.

She is versatile…she is pure….she is….miss crop top of the year. Ok, might be going too far, buuuuuut this top is actually not too see-through. Not too see-through is a huge win because you can wear it outside your home.

I know we have some home girls out there that are boss a** b****es who will wear dang near anything out in public. So please don’t let me stop or phase you. Just letting my other home girls out there know that if you’re comfortable, she rocks well without a bra underneath.

Finale of the Cotton-on bras Review

I still love these bras even tho they don’t work for my active lifestyle like I was hoping. The illusion of being able to do active whizz is a lie if your boobs are bigger than say a B cup.

What I’m really itching for now, is to try their undies and shirts! I have heard other influencers rave about them and am looking forward to a purchase including those items…and more!

All in all, Cotton-on bras are worth the buy because of the various styles and colors. I love the softness of them and the ability to get one in every color if I so chose to. The company stands behind an incredible mission as well, and I am lucky and fortunate to be a part in it!

If you loved my Cotton-on bras review, check out some of our other athleisure/clothing reviews here! (Including Gymshark, Balance Athletica, NVGTN, and more!)

We also post a bunch of reviews on our YouTube channel. Check it out/subscribe if you’re into that! 🙂

Come connect with us on:

Questions:

  1. Would you try a Cotton-on bra? If so, which style would you try first?
  2. What do you look for in a bra? Comfort, versatility, or style?
  3. What are your favorite fun bras? Where do you order those from?

Cotton On’s $42 Mother Puffer is the jacket every woman needs this winter

A Cotton On puffer jacket made from recycled materials looks set to become the surprise fashion staple of the Australian winter – and you can bag one for just $41.99 if you order before midnight on Thursday.

The Australian clothing brand has been struggling to keep the ‘Mother Puffer’ in stock since it launched in mid-March, but sales have accelerated even further over the past 24 hours thanks to a 30 percent discount across every item online.

The jacket is usually $59.99 but you can buy it for $41.99 until the sale ends in 72 hours, provided your size hasn’t sold out.

The quilted puffer, which comes in nine colours including trendy shades like baby blue, silver and hot pink and neutrals like black, white and khaki, is made from recycled polyester in keeping with Cotton On’s sustainable ethos.

Perfect for keeping warm as the mercury plummets, the versatile jacket looks equally stylish paired with athleisure wear and sneakers or thrown over a jumper, jeans and heeled boots.

Scroll down for video

Australian model Casey James wears the Cotton On ‘Mother Puffer’ in baby blue on Bondi Beach in Sydney on April 17, 2020

Sydney model Oceana Strahan (left and right) in a baby pink version of the jacket which has since sold out on April 23

A model wears the Mother Puffer in hot pink in a promotional campaign shot for Cotton On

It’s has already been seen on the Instagram feeds of some of Australia’s leading influencers, with Sydney models Casey James and Oceana Strahan posting photos in the jacket earlier this month.

The nature of the material means the jacket should be handwashed in cold water, because the force and temperature of the washing machine could cause the fibres to weaken and tear. 

The jacket comes in five sizes which run from extra small to extra large.

Stock of black and baby blue is dwindling, with only a handful of extra smalls available in each, but silver, navy, peach and white are still available in every size.

A tenth baby pink colour has already sold out in every size, with no indication of whether it will be restocked.

Tasmania style blogger Ella Cuthebert (left) wears the khaki colour of the Mother Puffer in an Instagram photo on March 22, and a model (right) poses in a white version for a Cotton On promotional shoot

South African twins and fashion bloggers Anelisa and Asanele Sobekwa wear the Mother Puffer in black and white in Cape Town on March 16

Other brands selling puffer jackets this winter

Previously reserved for hiking, puffers transitioned into mainstream fashion after Balenciaga designer Demna Gvsalia included a red, quilted jacket in his 2016 winter collection.

By February 2019, just three years later, a North Face puffer jacket was the second most-searched for fashion product on Google, just behind a classic pair of Nike trainers.

And for the past two years, Uniqlo’s best-selling winter coat has been the ‘Ultra-Light Down’ packable puffer, which folds neatly over itself into a discreet pouch stitched on the inside, allowing you to carry it with you if it’s too hot to rug up in a coat.

You can shop various styles and colours of puffers online at Kmart, Nude Lucy, SuperDry, PrettyLittleThing and Uniqlo now.

The inside story of the retailer’s rise to $1.5b in revenue

With almost 760 stores in Australia alone, the homegrown casual fashion factory arguably has more influence on what we and our kids wear on the weekend that any other fashion chain.

‘Success story’

“Cotton On is a true Australian new generation success story,” retail expert and former David Jones chief executive Paul Zahra says. “It has a singular focus on every day, edited basics that are fashion focused at an exceptional price and quality. It’s a relatively young and determined company who have no set boundaries and who know their customer intimately.”

Cotton On Group is now bigger than Solomon Lew’s Premier Investments, which owns Just Jeans, Dotti, Portmans and Jay Jays, the Country Road / Witchery / Mimco group and even surf and skate wear retailer Billabong International. It’s one of only a handful of domestic retailers that have successfully ventured overseas.

Austin has deliberately avoided publicity in the past, and the scale of the group’s operations is known to few outsiders, even in the close-knit Geelong community where Cotton On’s global operations are still based.

Rivals curse the fact that COG keeps its accounts away from prying eyes by using a series of discretionary trusts for each of its eight brands. “They don’t and never have disclosed profit and you can’t see at all through their accounts,” lamented one competitor.

But Austin, his cousins Ashley and Michael Hardwick and their trusted lieutenant, chief executive Peter Johnson, have finally decided to lift the lid, disclosing for the first time the size of the company, its growth strategy and its ambition to become the world’s dominant value fashion retailer.

“We chose not to tell the story as a defensive mechanism while we were trying to grow,” says co-owner Ashley Hardwick, 40, who was still at university when he started helping his cousin with the bookkeeping in 1992. “Now we don’t need to be that defensive and it’s not really a survival game anymore – we’re thriving and it’s good for people to know what it is that everyone here does.”

No plans to sell

In exclusive interviews with AFR Weekend, Austin and the Hardwicks ruled out an initial public offer and say they have no plans to raise external capital or sell out, despite keen interest in the past from private equity investors and domestic competitors.

“They wouldn’t even get to me today because it’s not even on the agenda,” Austin says.

“It’s just not something we spend time thinking about,” says Michael Hardwick, 46, who joined Cotton On as chief financial officer in 2009 after a long career with PwC and working in venture capital in the US. “We don’t need to do it [raise external capital] to continue to deliver on our aspirations for the business.

On a chilly Tuesday last week, the 1000-odd staff at Cotton On’s headquarters in an industrial estate in Geelong’s north gathered for the group’s monthly BBQ for an update on February sales and to learn more about plans for the coming year.

“It was another cracking month, the fifth in a row where we’ve beaten the market,” says Johnson, who worked for Country Road and Sussan Group before joining the COG team in 2004.

Comparable store sales across the group rose 9.2 per cent in February, led by 22 per cent growth at Cotton On Kids, 14.8 per cent at Supre, which was acquired in 2013, 12.5 per cent at stationery and homewares chain Typo and 8.6 per cent at the original Cotton On brand. In a subdued consumer spending environment, where annual retail sales growth is tracking at a below-trend 3.6 per cent and clothing sales are growing around 2.8 per cent year-on-year, it was an impressive performance, fuelled largely by overseas’ demand. Australian comps rose an enviable 8. 8 per cent, Malaysian comps jumped 42 per cent, Singapore 15 per cent, Hong Kong by 14 per cent and Thailand 11 per cent.

New jobs

As staff bobbed for plastic fish in an inflatable pool or tucked into hamburgers with quinoa salad, Johnson unveiled plans to add 227 head office jobs this coming year – 171 in Geelong and 56 in Cotton On’s four global hubs. Another 2000-odd retail jobs will be created as Cotton On opens more than 100 stores over the next 12 months.

Over the next three years the group plans to open 570 stores around the globe, taking the total to almost 1900, while lifting online sales to $250 million.

Ferrier Hodgson’s retail leader, James Stewart, who awarded the group fifth place in the firm’s 2015 Retail Growth awards after 22 per cent sales growth and 20 per cent EBITDA growth in 2014, says the keys to COG’s success are supply chain and property.

“Basically what’s made them such a success is they’re a supply-chain business and a property business,” Stewart says. “They bring quality products to the market at the cheapest possible price and their supply chain and sourcing strategies are critical to them being able to offer the value proposition they offer in their stores. Their stores are relatively inexpensive to put together so the capital investment is not very high and their pay back period is very fast.”

Vertically-integrated model

COG was one of the first Australian retailers to move to direct sourcing and adopt a fully vertically-integrated business model. Austin, who had worked in his father’s Hong Kong office when he was still at school, made multiple trips to China and trade fairs in the US to track down suitable suppliers.

“We’re still dealing with the same factories today,” he says. “The 30-piece orders they were doing at the time were probably an inconvenience for them, now they’re doing significant business (with average runs these days around 5000 pieces).”

The move to direct sourcing in 2000, when COG had only 60 stores, and the adoption of advanced replenishment systems in 2005, by which time store numbers had risen to about 140, were turning points for the group.

“We ended up having this perfect storm of comp sales growth through better replenishment systems and margin growth, so that was where the growth really kicked in,” Austin says. “EBITDA (earnings before interest tax depreciation and amortisation) just took off, which funded more growth.”

Cotton On’s supply chain and replenishment systems now rival those of Zara, H&M and Top Shop, enabling the group to continue to thrive while Australian department stores and specialty apparel stores are losing sales and market share to the foreign invaders.

Products are designed by a team of more than 60 designers and trend forecasters, with a turnaround time between design and manufacture of two to eight weeks, depending on the category. Range reviews are conducted for each brand every quarter. New products are dropped in stores daily and new ranges arrive each week.

Products are manufactured by 170 suppliers at 330 factories, mainly in China and Bangladesh, and are sent by sea freight to seven distribution centres in Melbourne, Brisbane, South Africa, China, Singapore, California and New Zealand.

Reputational risks

However, the move to direct sourcing has also exposed the company to supply chain and reputational risk amid a growing consumer backlash against cheap ‘disposable’ fashion, excessive consumption and child labour.

When a Bangladesh clothing factory, Rana Plaza, collapsed in 2013, killing more than 1130 low-paid textiles workers, Cotton On, Target, Kmart and BIG W came under immediate pressure to disclose the location of their Bangladesh suppliers.

Cotton On and others were castigated by aid agencies and the media for being slow to sign an international fire and building safety agreement which compelled retailers operating in Bangladesh to improve conditions and pay for factory repairs and fire safety.

Cotton On said nothing to defend itself at the time, even though it had established an ethical sourcing program three years earlier and had started auditing its 265 suppliers in China, 53 in Bangladesh and nine in India, reviewing issues such as fire and safety, workers rights, environmental problems and compliance.

“The delay in signing the fire and safety accord was so we could do our own due diligence,” Jacqui Hennessy, Cotton Group’s head of risk and compliance says. “We wanted to make sure if we were going to sign and commit to five years it was going to enhance our own program.”

Still, the criticism stung, especially for a company that takes the welfare and development of its own staff seriously and still considers itself a family business.

Many of those now running parts of Austin’s global empire are cousins, on his mother’s side, and old school friends. Cousin Natalie McLean, the general manager of Cotton On Kids, returned to the fold after seven years at Ripcurl and five years at Giordano. The general manager of marketing and e-commerce is her brother Marshall McClean, and Nigel’s best mate from St Joseph’s College, Stuart Higgins, is the brand manager manager for menswear.

Their children go to the same schools and several strategic moves, such as the decision to expand into the US and to launch Cotton On Body, were made during social gatherings at the Sydney Cricket Ground or Mt Buller.

“If we just told that (Cotton On Body) story it would sound like we were drunk, but it does say a little a bit about us,” Johnson says. “The back story is we had researched it and trialled it and we had been doing underwear in Cotton On stores and we knew it was going to work. All we needed was that group together to say ‘are we going to do this, do we believe it’s going to work, are we all in it together and are we prepared for the climb?'”

Expanding to US

The decision to expand to the US in 2009 was another major test for the company’s vision – to be the dominant southern hemisphere retailer, or to have a global view.

“The retail model is all around the timing of design, production and planning,” Michael Hardwick says. “To go global all that changes – production is no longer on a cycle that follows one quarter after another because (seasons) co-exist,” he says. “That was really the moment where we said ‘are we up for this significant change to the business?'”

COG has always thrived on a sense of adventure and risk taking, from the time it first decided to cut out agents and wholesalers – including Nigel’s father – and source directly from China to the time it decided to open its first overseas’ stores, starting with New Zealand in 2006 and Singapore in 2007.

“We weren’t driven by the financials, we enjoy the challenge of a new market or a new frontier,” Austin says.

Cotton On’s first stores were, by necessity, lean and mean, but as margins improved the company could afford to invest in store design and fitout and today its Cotton On, Cotton On Kids and Typo stores are on par with rivals such as Top Shop, GAP, Just Jeans, Pumpkin Patch or Kikki K.

By 2011 the company was outgrowing its management structure, which was based at the time on functional lines. “We were fatiguing trying to get around the globe and I was trying to do too much of the travel myself, which I love, but it was a challenge for work-life balance,” Austin says.

The answer was to recruit general managers for each of the eight brands and each region. “What really surprised me was getting that great injection of new perspective and new ideas with the calibre of the talent of those general manager roles,” Austin says. “It’s a bit of a cliche, but with great people big things happen.”

Massive outreach

Between 2012 and 2014 the company opened another 497 stores, venturing into new markets including the Philippines, Thailand, Brazil and the Middle East (through licencees), and lifting total store numbers to more than 1300.

The group has lured several international executives to Geelong, including Cotton On global general manager Felicity McGahan, a former GAP vice president and Sussan Group CEO, sports and performance psychologist Dr Pippa Grange, who runs people and culture and the $30 million Cotton On University, and Bianca Ginns, who ran retail operations for Ripcurl, Giordano and Diva before joining Cotton On as general manager of Typo three years ago.

However, as COG expands into new markets and builds its e-commerce and digital capabilities it has struggled to attract the international expertise it needs. Finding suitable staff is one of the reasons why Austin has finally decided to lift the veil. “It’s important that we’re seen as a global player in the domestic market,” he says. “We certainly are internationally.”

“The big constraining factor is staff and how to get them… and quickly,” Melbourne-based investment banker David Williams, the managing director of Kidder Williams says.

The former chairman of Austin Group, Williams has known Austin Jnr for 25 years and says that as the company has grown Austin has successfully delegated responsibilities and leveraged the talent of his executive and management teams.

“Everybody talks about it but very few people do it – he’s a master at sharing the load and empowering other staff,” Williams says. “But sooner or later he may have to think about having more than one [head office] location – he has [overseas] hubs but maybe he has to have a bigger hub or have one the brands in a different location to solve his staff sourcing issues.”

Cotton On is also growing its own talent, investing $30 million establishing its own University, a four-module learning platform in conjunction with Deakin University aimed at improving retail and leadership skills. The Geelong compound also has a gym and runs personal training sessions and mindfulness workshops.

“It’s not just about growing skills but perpetuating (the values) we care about,” says Pippa Grange, a performance psychologist who worked with elite sportsmen and AFL players before joining Cotton On full-time last year after five years as a consultant.

“This is an anything-can-happen place – that has its upsides and its downsides,” she says. “People have to learn to live with change.”

Foundation

The Cotton On Foundation, set up by Austin after the birth of his first son in 2007, is another important part of the culture. The foundation has raised $35 million for communities in southern Uganda, where 1500 children are sponsored by Cotton On staff, and raises funds for local youth and Geelong Hospital by organising the city’s annual fun run. Hundreds of photos of Cotton On staff building schools and digging bores in Uganda adorn the office walls and will soon be displayed in stores to raise the profile with consumers.

The foundation, which raises money from selling cloth bags, bottled water, mints and coffee, even has its own performance targets. General manager Tim Diamond wants to lift sales to one in every seven transactions to one in every five.

“If we improve to one in six that’s another $1 million a year or one school in Uganda,” he says.

Austin and the Hardwicks have no plans to retire soon, but like any family company COG will eventually have to grapple with the issue of succession planning.

Austin says his father taught him almost everything he knows about retail, but is reluctant to hand his share of the business to his own children, saying the burden would be too great.

In last year’s BRW Rich List, Austin was estimated to be worth $295 million. But industry sources say COG would be worth more than $1 billion, based on sales of $1.5 billion and estimated earnings of $150 million, although it is impossible to verify these numbers.

“At this age they’re still saying they’d like to take it over but the responsibility of such a big business [would be unfair], and it’s going to be so much bigger by then, I don’t think it’s realistic,” he says. “It’s been a really great role to grow into as opposed to stepping into it.”

Ashley agrees. “It’s going to be a pretty big business, but with new people coming into the business all the time and the new brands and countries it keeps the enthusiasm levels high – we don’t really need an exit plan.”

12 Best Sports Bras – Top-Rated Workout Bras for Comfort and Support

amazon

The right sports bra can make all the difference in your workout. Whether you’re walking, running or exercising in a gym or studio, you’ll need a sports bra that’s comfortable, supportive and easy to get on and off. Not to mention, it should be durable and good-looking if you’re hoping to check off all the boxes.

The Good Housekeeping Institute Textiles Lab regularly tests to find the best bras for people with small breasts, large breasts, and everything in between, and workout gear like exercise leggings, running shoes and more. For sports bras, we check how well each one manages sweat, holds up during the wash and maintains its color through perspiration, crocking (how much dye bleeds when it’s rubbed) and laundering. We then have real testers — women ranging from A through H cup sizes — try them out during different workouts to give us feedback on things like comfort, support, constriction and ease of use. After more than 400 hours of exercise and over 5,000 data points, we’ve selected the picks ahead that are either winners from our test or newer styles with unique features and rave reviews from users.

How to find the best sports bra for your shape (and workout)

First off, you’ll want to make sure to find a style that’s best for your particular size and activity level. Here’s what to keep in mind as you shop for sports bras:

  • Sizing: Make sure to check the brand’s size chart – each one is a bit different. Don’t be concerned if your sports bra size is different from your normal bra or T-shirt size: A sports bra should feel more compressed than a regular bra to hold you in, but it shouldn’t be constricting or uncomfortable.
  • Compression vs. encapsulation: You may see these terms in the description, so here’s what they mean: Compression bras hug against your body and are best for smaller cup sizes, while encapsulation bras separate breasts for individual support (and often look more like a regular T-shirt bra beneath clothes). Bras that offer encapsulation, or a combo of compression and encapsulation, are best for larger cup sizes to protect from movement in all directions.
  • Moisture management: If you’re going to sweat, you’ll need a bra that wicks moisture from your skin and dries quickly so you won’t stay soaked with sweat. If you’re unsure whether a bra lives up to its moisture-wicking claim, try placing a drop of water on the inside where the fabric touches your skin. It should spread out quickly; if the water beads up, it’s not a wicking material.
  • Chafing and irritation: These common sports bra complaints are caused by the combination of sweat and rubbing. On top of a moisture-wicking fabric, you’ll need a bra that has minimal seams and stitching to help reduce friction during exercise, especially in activities like running where there’s a lot of movement. Make sure your bra isn’t too big or too small, too.
  • Style: There are a variety to choose from, but your best one depends on your personal preferences and activity level. For upper body movement, a racerback style gives you a greater range of motion. For extra support, look for bras with an underwire and built-in or removable cups. If you have trouble finding a good fit, try a style with adjustable straps and hook-eye closures.

Advertisement – Continue Reading Below

1

Best Overall Sports Bra

Swish Sports Bra Nike Pro amazon.com

$45.99

Rated the most comfortable sports bra in our test, this medium-impact style is versatile to wear for everything from gym workouts to running, depending on cup size. The compressive fit holds you in while the racerback gives you a good range of motion. It aced our Lab’s durability and moisture evaluations and our panel said it fit well and felt supportive. Judging from the rave reviews on Amazon, other users feel the same way.

  • Pullover style with top comfort ratings
  • Sweat wicking
  • Durable fabric
  • No encapsulation for larger cup sizes
2

Best Value Sports Bra

Sports Bras (4-Pack)

Sports bras can get pricey, but this four-pack costs less than most individual bras! Like the Nike style, it has medium support and a racerback, but this one also comes with removable pads. The downside is the brand recommends you hand wash it, which won’t clean sweat as well as a machine wash cycle. Still, it’s an Amazon best-seller with rave reviews from women ranging in A-DD cup sizes.

  • Low cost
  • Seamless for less friction
  • Racerback for good range of motion
  • Hand wash care instructions
3

Best Sports Bra for Big Breasts

Active Underwire Molded Sports Bra

Don’t let large busts stand in the way of a good workout: This bra has adjustable, thick straps for support, an underwire and molded cups for encapsulation and breathable and moisture wicking fabric for comfort. There’s also a hook in the straps that lets you convert it to a racerback. This sports bra was a fan favorite from our panel of testers, especially for women with cup sizes D through H. They especially liked the separation (no pain from movement and no uni-boob!) and the fact that it was so easy to get on.

  • Underwire for excellent separation and support
  • Adjustable straps and hook-eye closure
  • Top ratings from users with large cup sizes
4

Best High-Impact Sports Bra

Infinity High Sports Bra Under Armour amazon.com

$60.00

Whether you prefer CrossFit, HIIT, field sports or other high-intensity exercise, you’ll need a high-support sports bra that can keep up with your routine. Under Armour’s style has built-in molded cups, a firm band underneath and wide straps with a criss-cross back to give you an ideal balance of support, comfort and range of motion. It also has mesh components for breathability and moisture-wicking materials to keep you dry during sweat sessions.

  • Built-in cup support
  • Adjustable fit with criss-cross straps and hook-eye closure
  • Breathable mesh panels
  • Reviewers say it runs small
5

Best Low-Impact Sports Bra

Flow Y Bra Lululemon lululemon.com

$48.00

Perfect for dancers or low-impact exercise like yoga or cycling where you won’t need as much support, this Lululemon style has a smooth, stretchy fabric with thin straps and a Y-back – i.e. even more minimal than a racerback – so you can comfortably move between poses. There’s no wire so it’ll feel less restricting, but it has removable cups in case you want the extra shaping benefits.  It’s designed for A-C cups, but reviewers ranging from A-DD all say it’s a favorite (though some recommend sizing up).

  • Soft and smooth fabric
  • Lightweight
  • Minimal coverage for easy movement
  • Not intended for larger cup sizes
6

Best High-Impact Sports Bra for Big Breasts

Wired Sports Bra Panache amazon.com

$70.00

This bra comes in a wide range of sizes and was preferred by our testers with larger busts. On top of that, it has excellent compression (on top of the separation) and our panel said it felt breathable, so it’s perfect for sweaty, high-impact workouts like running. One G-cup tester commented that it had “great support and separation. I didn’t know that I could find a sports bra that would fit me well!” Other women with large busts called out the fit, support and adjustability as the main highlights. This one can also convert to a racerback if you prefer that style.

  • Compression and separation for superior support
  • Adjustable straps and hook-eye closure
  • Good sweat management
7

Best Sports Bra for Small Breasts

Performance Reversible Sports Bra

For smaller bra sizes where you don’t necessarily need a wire or padding, this super comfortable racerback still offers medium support. The smooth, seamless fabric stood up to all of our Lab’s durability tests and it was a panel favorite, especially for B-cup testers, with comments like “it gave me the support that I need without feeling tight” and “it didn’t feel like I was even wearing anything when working out, like second skin.” Plus, it’s reversible so you get two looks for the price of one.

  • Smooth, seamless fabric
  • Reversible design
  • No padding for smaller cup sizes
  • Some users say it runs a bit small
8

Best Sports Bra for Running

AirSupport Bra Lululemon lululemon.com

$98.00

Lululemon makes our list again, this time for its innovative style that checks off all the boxes for a good running bra: Seamless and sweat-wicking fabric to prevent skin chafing, lightweight materials that won’t weigh you down and full-coverage foam to help prevent bounce. Testers told us it provided excellent comfort and support — even during long and sweaty runs — especially liking the compression without any uni-boob effects.

  • Chafe-resistant
  • Excellent support
  • Lightweight
  • Limited cup sizes
  • Very expensive
9

Best Longline Sports Bra

Longline Sports Bra CRZ YOGA amazon.com

$28.00

This medium-impact style can be worn as a crop top or under a shirt, giving you the comfort and support of a sports bra with extra coverage and stability around the torso. The fabric is smooth and slightly compressive, plus there’s a strappy criss-cross design in the back that looks stylish yet is functional for movement during exercise. Not to mention, it comes in a whopping 37 colors and prints.

  • Affordable
  • Available in dozens of colors
  • Less supportive for larger busts
10

Best Bounce-Free Sports Bra

Catalyst Sports Bra

This high-impact bra was designed specifically to minimize breast movement, making it ideal for runners and anyone who has a larger bust. It’s not for everyone – it’s super pricey and has more coverage than other bras in our roundup – but it has excellent features like molded cups to separate and encapsulate, a seamless and breathable fabric to prevent chafing and thick, adjustable straps. The sizing works a little differently with this so make sure to check the chart, but it’s designed for 32A through 42G.

  • Maximum support
  • Good separation
  • Adjustable straps and hook-eye closure
  • Full coverage may feel restricting
  • High cost
11

Best Cotton Sports Bra

Built-Up Sports Bra (3-Pack) Fruit of the Loom amazon.com

$12.94

Most sports bras are made with synthetic fibers because they wick sweat better than slow-to-dry cotton, but if you prefer the natural feel of cotton, this one’s your best bet. It still has some spandex in it for stretch and even though it’s not ideal for intense workouts, users say it’s so soft and comfortable that they even wear it at home as a lounge bra. It’s perfect for full figures with band sizes up to 50, and the set of three makes it come out to just a few bucks per bra.

  • Made with cotton instead of synthetic fibers
  • Versatile as a lounge bra
  • Inexpensive
  • Not as stretchy or sweat-wicking
  • Less supportive for intense workouts
12

Best Plus-Size Sports Bra

Plus-Size Vented Sports Bra Champion amazon.com

$24.00

Not only is this bra available in sizes up to 4X, but it also has thoughtful cooling features like mesh panels and lining for built-in ventilation and sweat-wicking fabric to help keep you. Though it doesn’t offer separation for high-intensity exercise, it’s a perfect fit for medium-impact activities like cycling or gym workouts. And with its keyhole racerback design, you get a compressive fit without restricting your movement.

  • Compressive fit
  • Moisture-wicking fabric
  • Breathable racer back
  • Not supportive enough for high-impact
Lexie Sachs, Good Housekeeping Institute Textiles Director Lexie Sachs earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Fiber Science from Cornell University, and she researches, tests and reports on fabric-based products ranging from sheets, mattresses and towels to bras, fitness apparel and other clothing.

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io

Advertisement – Continue Reading Below

Cotton plans for the Barkly Tablelands referred to EPA in a first for NT land clearing

Plans to develop a large dryland cropping operation in the Barkly region of the Northern Territory have been referred to the Environment Protection Authority (NTEPA).

Key points:

  • Ucharonidge Station in the Barkly is seeking to grow 10,000 hectares of dryland cotton and sorghum
  • Its latest land clearing application has been referred to the EPA in what’s understood to be a first for the NT
  • Ucharonidge claims its cotton project could create a carbon sink

The Malcolm Harris-owned Cleveland Agriculture has applied to clear just under 5,000 hectares for growing cotton and sorghum crops on Ucharonidge Station, 800 kilometres south-east of Darwin.

The NT Department of Environment determined the proponent should refer its application to the NTEPA because the proposed clearing would result in more than 10,000 hectares of cleared land on Ucharonidge Station — which had previously been given approval to clear 4,916 hectares in 2020 and 317 hectares in 2019.

It is understood this is the first time a pastoral land clearing application has been referred to the NTEPA.

Cotton seed is regarded as an excellent feed for cattle.(

ABC Rural: Daniel Fitzgerald

)

Cotton in cattle country

The Barkly Tablelands is regarded as the engine room of the Northern Territory’s cattle industry, with endless plains of Mitchell grass.

Get the latest rural news

According to Ucharondige Station’s clearing application, it believes growing cotton and sorghum crops will complement its cattle operations.

“The proposed cropping system is part of an overall drought management strategy that will capitalise on good wet seasons to better manage the dry years by retaining moisture within the soils through incorporation of organic carbon into the matrix,” it said.

“The optimal planting time will be wet season to ensure the crop benefits from the higher rainfall months to achieve maximum vegetative growth and yield potential, no irrigation will be required.”

Sorry, this audio has expiredThe potential weediness of cotton in northern Australia has been studied, here are the results

The application comes as the NT gets ready to build its own cotton gin, with early construction works now underway at Tarwoo Station near Katherine.

In a business case report into the viability of building a NT cotton gin, PricewaterhouseCoopers reported the Barkly had the potential to produce 120,000 bales of cotton each year, with interest to grow the crop on Ucharondige and also Rockhampton Downs — which is also owned by Malcolm Harris.

It’s understood Ucharonidge has been trialling cotton over the past two years, with sources telling ABC Rural that “Malcolm Harris is growing some of the best cotton in the NT”.

‘Big win’ says environment group

Environment Centre NT’s Kirsty Howey said while plans for large-scale cotton production was concerning, the fact that Ucharonidge’s plan had been referred to the NTEPA was a “big win”.

“This is a significant bio-region, it might not have trees, but it’s got some unique characteristics including cracking clay soils that harbour all sorts of little creatures, some of them threatened,” she told ABC Rural.

Kirsty Howey wants a full environmental impact assessment for all proposed cotton developments in the NT.(

ABC: Dane Hirst

)

“And frankly, we haven’t seen an application for clearing on the Mitchell Grass Downs of this size and there’s a range of reasons why it needs to be scrutinised — including the impacts on threatened species.

“And what are the impacts of the chemicals listed in the land clearing application going to be on the local environment?”

The Barkly region is predominantly made up of vast treeless plains of Mitchell grass.(

ABC Rural: Daniel Fitzgerald

)

The EPA’s director of environmental assessments Lisa Bradley said the extent of land clearing on Ucharonidge and the “unknown greenhouse gas emissions associated with the clearing” was what triggered the referral.

The EPA will look at the accumulative impact of clearing the entire 10,000-hectare project.

She said it was a large project for the NT, but small compared to the actual size of the Barkly.

“What we’re looking at with Ucharonidge Station is that approximately 0.2 per cent of similar habitat in the region would be cleared, so it’s a small amount,” Ms Bradley said.

“And that 10,000 hectares is only about 4 per cent of the total native vegetation on Ucharonidge Station.”

Cotton is being grown in various locations across northern Australia.(

ABC News: Kristy O’Brien

)

Could cotton create a carbon sink?

Ucharonidge Station’s clearing application includes a 69-page assessment of its potential carbon impact.

It claims the clearing process will actually result in a net carbon gain, as it will “incorporate the existing grass biomass into the clay soils to assist in water retention, significantly reducing release to atmosphere from typical processes of bovine digestion or wildfire combustion”.

“The results show the net greenhouse gas emissions would change from approximately 3,400 tonnes in 2019 (before any land transformation events) to -35,00 tonnes CO2 equivalent (positive carbon sink) in 2023, assuming 85 per cent of the total approved area was transformed into rainfed cotton, and the cattle herd increased roughly 30 per cent compared to the current size.”

Public consultation on the EPA’s referral closes on September 30. After that deadline, the EPA will determine if an Environmental Impact Assessment will need to be undertaken.

Cleveland Agriculture has been contacted for comment.

I Finally Found The Best Cotton Underwear

For a square foot of fabric I almost never see, underwear plays an outsize role in my mood. The wrong pair can make me squirm, forget what I was saying, curse the act of walking. And when I consider this unromantic montage, I wonder why I haven’t spent more time searching for the perfect pair.

Then again, maybe I have: There was the Victoria’s Secret 5-for-$25 bin I combed through all four years of college. There was the post-grad Hanky Panky phase from which I was sure I’d never stray. There was the Calvin Klein Invisible Hipster era, as I’ve mentioned, that made an underwear loyalist out of me. But none, ultimately, were a lasting match, because here I am, at the end of said era, with a drawer containing what appear to be floor scraps from a bathing suit factory: limp, torn, and a little too nylon for my pH balance’s liking.

I’m ready for a new phase — a more perfect phase, not to be greedy. Which is why I turned to the internet last week in search of an uncontested path forward. My call for suggestions asked that the underwear be simple (no thongs), mostly cotton (no nylon), and pants-friendly (limited bunching). They also, ideally, would be the most comfortable square foot of fabric I’d ever touched.

Below, I put the five most recommended pairs to the test. Each was rated out of five on fabric, cut, cuteness, comfort and subtlety (a.k.a. VPL-aversion), with the end goal of losing my underwear cynicism and, obviously, finding the holy grail. See if I did below.

92% cotton, 8% elastane

When Everlane introduced underwear to its line last March, they were marketed as a simple, cotton solution that was “done with the bullshit.” In the comments of my story, they were both recommended and side-eyed, so I decided to break the tie.

Unfortunately I didn’t do that: I fell somewhere in the middle. They are made of basic cotton which is pretty soft aside from the super-thin seams, which feel a little rough (feel: 3). The high cut is very Kylie Jenner and the waist is not quite high-rise (cut: 2), but they are pretty cute on (cuteness: 3). And apart from being quick-to-wedgie (comfort: 3), they do lay super flat under jeans, without cutting into my skin (subtlety: 4).

Overall they get a 16/25. Not my favorite, but I won’t avoid them in my drawer either.

100% cotton

Hanro undies came highly recommended from readers, so I was eager to give them a shot. I was initially a little disappointed with the material, which is somewhat thin and thin-seamed albeit soft (2), but I really enjoy the cut — they are exactly what you picture when you say “classic white underwear” (4), and they’re pretty cute on (3). The super thin seams cut into my bikini line a bit (3) but they were close to seamless under jeans (4).

Overall these tied with Everlane at 16/25, and will happily stay in my rotation. Although, at more than double the price, they’ll be harder to justify.

100% organic cotton

I love Entireworld, and these are downright adorable; I immediately understood why Harling said they are all she wants to wear. The feel is similar to an old cotton shirt (3), the cut is charming in a girl-on-the-sunscreen-bottle way, but is a little poofy (4). The cuteness is maxed out at a 5, but they don’t sit well under jeans at all (2).

Overall they get a 17/25 — I can’t wait to wear them around my house, but will have to be more trepidatious when it comes to pants. (Unless those pants are part of a gray Entireworld sweatsuit.)

91% organic cotton, 9% elasthane

I’ve long held Base Range in high esteem, so when I got a few DMs about the underwear, I didn’t hesitate. They feel luxe as hell (5) — if underwear can feel expensive, this is it. The cut is satisfyingly high-waist, which I like, although the tight waistband sausages me a bit (3, 3). They are extremely comfortable regardless (4) and are neutral under jeans, visible but not too noticeable (3).

These get an 18/25: a luxurious good-enough.

95% cotton, 5% spandex

Uniqlo, which is already my go-to for socks, sweatshirts, beanies and T-shirts, came highly recommended by Man Repeller readers. Why hadn’t I tried the underwear? I’m still asking myself that question, now that I have, because these were an immediate favorite. They’re as soft as basic cotton comes (4), the cut is more of a mid-rise, but the shape is classic and flattering (4). They look great on and do exactly what I want them to do (5), in both how they fit (3) and how they look under jeans (4).

These get a 20/25 and I’m officially adding underwear to my reasons I love Uniqlo.

93% cotton, 7% spandex

Gap was the most recommended underwear brand of all of them, and that didn’t surprise me (I’ve owned and loved Gap underwear in the past, but only in spurts). I’d never tried this kind though, and was delighted to find they completely fulfilled the archetype I had in my mind when I set out on this hunt. They are super soft (though don’t feel particularly luxe, which I can live with at $6/pair) (4). Cut-wise, they are perfectly neutral and not trying to do too much (5), meaning they look that way on as well (5). They are very comfortable (you don’t even feel them) (4) and are nearly undetectable under jeans (4).

At 22/25, these were my favorite, but Uniqlo’s Basic Bikini look like a strong dupe.


Sometimes comfortable underwear is at odds with jeans, and seamless underwear is at odds with comfort, but Uniqlo and Gap broke that convention easily. In fact, all of them did to some extent. Although nothing I tested in this trial was truly seamless, I’m less concerned with VPL than I’ve ever been. Soft, breathable and comfortable sit far higher on my priority list. Perhaps because I’m more concerned with my own comfort these days than others’, which is an underwear mindset I can get behind.

Did you have a different experience with one of these? Did I not try the one you think would beat them all? I’ve heard good things about Jonesy.

Illustrations by Liana Jegers. 

Large cotton trousers

I already took cargo pants for a review in Banguda mySKU.me/blog/china-stores/37699.html
The size fit well, but their appearance turned out to be so-so. As a result, I do chores in them.
Recently I saw nicer pants in a store and decided to try again to get a new one by summer.
Summary. The tailoring and fabric are not bad, but not right with the size. Trousers will suit a plump man with a height of around 185 cm.

My height is 198 cm, waist circumference around the waist is 112 cm.
Remembering that the previous trousers were larger, I decided to take the largest size 42 (Asian 46) with a waist circumference of 107 cm. The length should have fit.
That is, I was afraid that my pants would not be fastened on my stomach, but I decided to take a chance.
20 days of waiting. Fitting. Surprise!
They are very loose at the waist, but short by a good 10 cm.
Okay, that’s my problem.
Let’s get acquainted with the acquisition.
Pants were large in size only in Khaki. In my opinion, dark browns looked more interesting.
In reality, the fabric turned out to be not khaki, but just a light brown shade, between the colors “beige” and “coffee with milk”. No associations with military clothing, I like it better. In the photo, the shade is not quite right.
The fabric itself is of medium thickness and quite dense. I have thin brown jeans made from a similar fabric.
I tried to walk in my pants at home (now plus 25-28 degrees), comfortable and not very hot. Plus, any garbage does not stick to the fabric, so I dare say that it is cotton.
A small label was sewn to the waist of the trousers in a few stitches.

Length at the side seam 116 cm, at the inside seam 78 cm.


The width at the waist is 54 cm, which is exactly the same as the stated 108 cm in girth. I don’t know how I fit comfortably with my 112 cm. Maybe because I measure the width in a straight line, but in fact the belt is somewhat curved, so the real length is slightly larger.
The distance from the waist to the toe of the legs, the so-called front rise, is 30 cm.

The seams on the fly bar are very neat.

Lightning metal, budget.

The upper side pockets are welt, with an inclined entrance. The size of this entrance is depressing, I don’t know what the clothing designers were thinking. Only 13 cm. The palm can hardly slip into the pocket. The depth of the pocket is quite decent – 21 cm.

There are 2 more patch pockets on the back. Rise length at the back 40 cm.

Pocket sizes 17 by 15 cm.

Fastened with one button flap.

Belt loops for a regular belt 38 mm wide. The middle belt loop is double.

Let’s move on to the trousers. Width at the top of the thigh 37 cm. Width at the bottom of the leg 23 cm.
There is a semicircular insert in the groin area. Moreover, this is not an overlay to increase wear resistance, there is only one layer of fabric. Probably just such features of the cut.

In the front, in the area of ​​the knees, there is a pair of folds imitating the so-called articulated cut for anatomical fit of clothing.

There is a transverse seam on the back of the legs.

This is what the bottom of the legs looks like.

Let’s take a look at the inner workings of the trousers.


And here is the label. Size 46 is of course nonsense, but the approximate height and girth at the waist of the alleged owner are correctly indicated.

The burlap in the pockets is the same size, it just happened in the photo.

The fabric itself is thin and somewhat sparse.

The hem is trimmed with a dark blue checkered fabric.

There is also a trim of this fabric on the back of the seam.


This is how the semicircular inserts on the legs look from the inside.

Double side seams. Made quite neatly.

The turn-up at the bottom of the legs is small, about 1 cm.

Let’s move on to fitting.
Let me remind you that my pants are short.


They sit so-so, even if you don’t pay attention to the length.
I asked to try on my brother. He is 186 cm tall and has a waist circumference of 102 cm.
Of course, they are wide for him, but the length is more or less suitable.


I wanted to give the trousers to him to wear after being sewn up by the tailors. But my brother refused. Says the cut is uncomfortable.
I will try to sell the trousers, if I fail, then I will wear them in the country.
Let’s move on to the most painful place of clothing from the Bangud store. Discussing the price. The fabric is not bad, the tailoring is also normal. On purpose, I always take pictures of clothes out of the box. If you cut the threads, then there will be almost nothing to complain about.
But $ 36 for these pants is a lot.Adequate price is about $ 20-25. For that kind of money, you can find similar pants offline, you can also find them on Ali.
But it’s not me who sets the prices, so I can’t do anything about it.
That’s all.
Thank you for the attention.

The product was provided for writing a review by the store. The review is published in accordance with clause 18 of the Site Rules.

Features 100% Egyptian Fine Cotton Sets, Reviews

It is no coincidence that cotton bed linen is in demand among the buyer.It’s comfortable, looks nice, and is relatively inexpensive (excluding the premium options). Although here, too, you need to competently approach the choice of one or another set in order to purchase a product of decent quality, which will serve for a long time without losing its presentable appearance.

Features

Cotton as a 100% natural material is practical. The most valuable raw material for such fabric is Egyptian fine-staple cotton, which is grown on the banks of the Nile River.It is from it that the most expensive sleep kits are created. No matter what raw materials are made of this or that material used for sewing bed linen, people value such things for several reasons.

  • They are pleasant to touch, which is important when relaxing. They allow air to pass through well.
  • The colors of a quality set remain bright for a long time.
  • Fabric withstands multiple washes. It does not become thinner for a long time, which allows it to be exploited for a long time.
  • They are not allergic. It is especially valuable when used by children and the elderly, as well as people with sensitive skin.
  • Excellent sweat absorption.
  • Cotton bed linen is affordable for a wide range of buyers.

These fabrics also have a number of disadvantages that should be borne in mind:

  • when dried in the sun, they fade;
  • it takes a long time to dry after washing;
  • The fabric shrinks after several washes.

Cotton types

There are many varieties of 100% cotton fabrics that are used to make bedding. Each of them also has its positive and negative features.

  • Chintz. This fabric is attractive in price, however, modern calicoes cannot be called quality materials.They do not last long.
  • Calico. Does not require any special care ceremonies. Withstands a huge number of washes without problems. Bed linen made from it is more expensive than calico, but cheaper than satin. It can serve for several years.
  • Satin. It is a dense fabric with a beautiful sheen. Pakistani is the most prized.
  • Poplin. His texture is dense and soft at the same time. The fabric is pleasant to the body. Shimmers.Has a noble appearance.
  • Percale. Is a high quality fabric. The interlacing of the threads is tight. Thanks to this, the material is durable. Withstands a huge number of washes. Feels like silk.
  • Twill. Excellent air permeability. Easy to clean. Dries up in a short time. No need to iron.
  • Batiste. Airy and lightweight material.Used for sewing lace lingerie (for example, for a wedding bed). Such kits do not involve frequent washings. If you use such linen regularly, after several treatments in water, it will be “killed” completely.
  • Flannel. Suitable for sewing warm bed linen. It is pleasant to use it in the winter.
  • Biomatin. High-quality fabric, although thin, but characterized by high strength. Specially processed for use by people with hypersensitivity to allergenic factors. Lingerie sets made from it serve for a long time.
  • Mahra. Towels and bathrobes are made of it, but for some time now they have also been used for the production of bed linen.
  • Header. In essence, this is a crepe-type canvas. Its advantage is that, having a relief texture, it retains heat well and does not require ironing after washing.

Egyptian cotton sets

Egyptian cotton bed linen is an elite product. Textiles made from such raw materials have the best characteristics in terms of product exploitation. The fibers of this unique cotton are twice as long as the others (the reason for this lies in the special humid climate and the richness of the soil near the Nile River with various valuable elements).This allows the production of thin but strong yarns, which in turn produces a smooth, thin, soft and durable material.

Since this cotton absorbs liquid well, this makes it possible to permanently dye it. Even after many washes, the colors do not fade.

Already in appearance, we can say that this is a premium fabric. After special processing, Egyptian cotton becomes silk-like.It is just as soft and shines just as beautifully. After numerous washes, no pellets appear on the fabric. The Egyptian cotton bedding set will last one and a half times longer than usual.

How to buy?

90,084 Given that only one percent of the world’s cotton crop is in Egypt, products that are specifically of Egyptian origin (in terms of raw materials) are not sold on every corner.There are analogues of decent quality, but still it will be a different fabric. There are cases when, when selling bed linen for Egyptian cotton, products of a completely different origin are issued.

It should be borne in mind that due to the high cost of Egyptian cotton in the production of fabrics, it is often mixed with another, lower grade. And this affects the performance of things. When choosing a kit in a store, you need to keep in mind that high quality products cannot be cheap.If the buyer wants to purchase a set of linen made of this particular cotton, he must carefully read what is indicated on the label. Information that the fabric is made from raw materials grown in Egypt should be specified separately.

You should also carefully study the information about who produced the set of linen you like. It must be a proven company that has been on the market for many years.It’s good to listen to reviews from other buyers about bedding purchased under a particular brand. In fact, it turns out that this source of information is the most reliable.

According to the confessions of many people, they sometimes had to find out the quality of Egyptian cotton by chance. Someone bought it simply because they liked the drawing, and only then it turned out that the sheets are especially tender in contact with the body, and the cotton duvet cover allows you to better keep warm.Someone received a set of such expensive cotton as a gift and noticed a contrast with the rough copies of sheets and duvet covers that were already on the farm. And when the old linen had time to go to the rags, the elite cotton continued to serve faithfully, without losing its pleasant appearance.

On sale you can find bedding sets from Egyptian raw materials with different patterns and even rich embroidery for every taste.There are also beautiful white linens. You can purchase a product with parameters depending on the size of the bed. These are both single and double bed linen and sets for a bed with a size of 1.5 beds.

Care

Natural cotton linen produced in Egypt does not require any special maintenance.It easily tolerates washing or dry cleaning. When subjecting things to such processing, you should clearly follow the directions on the label. Moreover, fabrics with a dark pattern allow them to be washed in hot water, and light fabrics – in cold at a delicate mode.

The laundry is suitable for drying in a washing machine equipped with this function. When washing, just do not use conditioners (this can become an obstacle to the good permeability of the items included in the kit, air).After drying, such linen need not be ironed. But if the hostess decided that this is necessary, the appropriate temperature regime must be set on the iron.

Following simple rules, you can get the opportunity for a long time to enjoy a pleasant time in bed and wonderful dreams surrounded by Egyptian cotton.

See the next video for details.

Kurskaya Pravda – Business News

Research on the global V2V and V2I communication systems Market 2021 by manufacturer, region, type and application, forecast until 2025 is focused on current trends in the global market. The purpose of this V2V market report and V2I communication systems is to give customers a deep… Continue Reading →

Research on global gastroenterology Market 2021 by manufacturer, region, type and application, forecast until 2025 focused on current trends in the global market.The purpose of this Gastroenterology Market Report is to provide clients with a deep understanding of the market and help them develop strategies … Continue Reading →

Global Research Tactical Communications Market 2021 by manufacturer, region, type and application, forecast up to 2025 focused on current trends in the global market. The purpose of this market report Tactical Connections is to provide customers with a deep understanding of the market and help them to … Continue Reading →

Global Market Womens Whitening Facial Mask 2021-2026, was prepared based on in-depth market analysis with industry experts.The report covers the market landscape and its growth prospects in the coming years. The report discusses the key manufacturers operating in this market. Exclusive data,… Continue Reading →

Global Baby Thread Market 2021-2026, was prepared based on in-depth market analysis with industry experts. The report covers the market landscape and its growth prospects in the coming years. The report discusses the key manufacturers operating in this market.Exclusive data presented in… Continue Reading →

The Benzodiazepine Drugs Global Market Report provides a comprehensive overview, market share and market growth opportunities for Benzodiazepine Drugs by product type, use, key manufacturers, and key regions and countries. This report also presents market competition and related detailed analysis … Continue Reading →

Global Cancer Tissue Diagnostics Market (2021)) discusses the report, further focused on the world’s major manufacturers of the Cancer Tissue Diagnostics market with important data such as organizational profiles, segmentation information, problems and limitations, driving factors, cost, cost, revenue and contact details.… Continue Reading →

Global Market Children’s Warm Jacket 2021-2026, was prepared based on in-depth market analysis with the participation of industry experts.The report covers the market landscape and its growth prospects in the coming years. The report discusses the key manufacturers operating in this market. Exclusive data presented by… Continue Reading →

Global Calcium Hydride Market (2021) discusses the report, further focusing on the world’s major producers of the Calcium Hydride market, with relevant data such as organizational profiles, segmentation information, challenges and constraints, drivers, cost, cost, revenue and Contact details.Calcium hydride… Continue Reading →

Global Menthol Essential Oil Market 2021-2026, was prepared based on in-depth market analysis with industry experts. The report covers the market landscape and its growth prospects in the coming years. The report discusses the key manufacturers operating in this market. Exclusive data presented by… Continue Reading →

90,000 properties of thick cotton fabric, thin polish 100% cotton, types of material and its differences from linen.What if the cotton shrinks after washing?

In the modern world, cotton is the most common and common name for fabric. It is familiar to every person, without exception. But as soon as the phrase “cotton cloth” or its abbreviation – “cotton” appears in a conversation, many people begin to ask different questions.It is not clear to many whether there is a difference between these types of fabric and what is the peculiarity of each individual material.

In fact, the majority opinion looks completely ridiculous. Cotton and cotton fabric are one and the same type of textile product with different names. It is made from cotton, or rather, from its fruits. The quality of the material is determined by the length of the fiber – the longer it is, the stronger and more durable the fabric becomes.Even in terms of cost, cotton products are in many ways inferior to their counterparts.

Due to these features, cotton fabric is considered the most common type of fabric to this day.

What is it?

Cotton is considered one of the oldest types of fabric used by mankind for sewing clothes.Work with this material began to be mastered at the dawn of the emergence of the civilized world. But despite this, cotton production did not have an industrial scale for a long time. The first massive cotton crop was harvested in India. On the territory of Europe, he appeared a little later, more precisely, during the reign of Alexander the Great. After some time, European craftsmen managed to understand and master the principle of manufacturing and sewing products from cotton fabric, after which they managed to establish internal production.

Cotton material appeared in Russia in the 15th century, but its production was rather scarce. That is why the material was considered the most expensive.

Initially, cotton fabrics were processed by hand. This was the most important and fundamental of the reasons that made it difficult to spread the fabric in the world market. Then the situation changed radically due to the beginning of the appearance of industrial equipment for the corresponding processing methods.

The streamlined process for the production of cotton fabric provided for step-by-step actions.

  • Harvesting. This refers to the weighing of procurement material and its storage.
  • Cleaning. Various debris was removed on the appropriate machines, after which sorting was carried out.
  • Production of continuous filaments. This process speaks of the weave of the fibers in the fabric.
  • Weaving threads. Creation of fabric directly.

Today, the cotton production process takes place exclusively on an industrial scale. After each individual step, technologists carry out certain checks, on the basis of which they make notes and make up a description of the prepared product. The finished material not only looks impressive, but also has a host of other advantages, which can be felt with tactile contact.

Composition

In the modern world, it is very difficult to find clothes or any other textile item made of 100% cotton. Quite often, during the manufacturing process, some components are added to the fabric, due to which the finished material is of higher quality, has an increased level of strength and has an appropriate appearance.

To a greater extent, cotton is supplemented with fabrics such as viscose, polyester, acetate. Knowing their features, you can understand why cotton products have a lot of advantages. Firstly, the material wrinkles less, which is very important in the modern rhythm of life. And secondly, it becomes possible to increase the color palette.

That is why cotton clothing and textiles can be presented in the brightest and most vibrant colors.

In any store of men’s, women’s, and especially children’s clothing, sellers quite often offer customers ordinary things made of synthetic material for 100% natural cotton. You can take their word for it and after the first wash give an appropriate assessment of the purchased item, and the seller too. On the other hand, during the selection process, some tests can be carried out to determine whether high-quality and 100% cotton is presented in the display window or is it synthetic.

First you need to take a close look at the material. Cotton itself does not even have a minimal sheen. If there are unpleasant pellets on the fabric, then there is no cotton in the material. Another way to check the quality of the composition is to crumple a small piece of clothing in your fist. If the fabric is wrinkled, then one hundred percent cotton was used in the production. The very last way to check the quality of a material is to wash it.This experiment can be carried out only after the purchase.

Natural cottons dry very slowly, while synthetic fabrics dry instantly.

Pros and Cons

Like any material, cotton fabrics have certain advantages and some disadvantages.Undoubtedly, the important advantages are the high level of strength and quality, as well as an affordable price.

Along with this, it has some negative characteristics. Prolonged exposure to sunlight on cotton fabric negatively affects the density and quality of the material. Any cotton products must be treated with different compounds that do not allow the fabric to wrinkle. The most unpleasant thing is the destruction of cotton fabric due to the appearance of harmful microorganisms in it.This process takes quite a long time, first scuffs appear on the fabric, then small holes. With proper care, the destruction of clothes and any other unpleasant consequences can be forgotten forever.

Species and their properties

Today, there are enough parameters, thanks to which it is possible to obtain various types of fabrics with a base of pure cotton. The production of textile raw materials due to the addition of natural, chemical and synthetic components has increased several times.

  • Batiste. A very fine kind of matter, but quite durable. Has a low level of density. Made from pre-twisted combed yarn. The type of weaving used is plain weaving, due to which a low density is obtained. According to the price criterion, the fabric is very expensive, but very wear-resistant. Batiste is mainly used for sleeping accessories – shirts for women, pajamas for men, as well as tablecloths.

Marquisite material is mainly used for sewing summer clothes, as well as curtains and bedding.

  • Marquis. This type of material resembles batiste in many ways.It uses the same plain weave combed yarn in its production. The only difference is the higher level of curling of the threads.

Marquisite material is mainly used for sewing summer clothes, as well as curtains and bedding.

  • Volts. This is a silky and very delicate material with a high level of density. It is made using combed yarn, which is pre-twisted strongly. The main characteristics are very similar to cambric. Underwear is made from volt.
  • Percale. A very refined and very refined type of matter with a high level of density. The interlacing of the fibers is made according to one algorithm. Despite its strength, it appears to be quite soft and silky. Percale products will serve their owner for a long time. Despite its sophistication, the fabric is easy to wash and many cleaning methods.
  • Poplin. This material is produced on the basis of plain weaving of combed yarn. Bed linen is made from poplin.
  • Kisei. The material is very light and transparent. Weaving takes place using a special technology. The threads are intertwined in pairs with the crossing of the warp fibers. The fabric is used to decorate women’s costumes, as well as window curtains.
  • Tulle. Transparent, light and thin patterned material. Its production takes place on specialized machines. This fabric is mainly used to decorate women’s clothing, window curtains, and bedspreads and capes.
  • Guipure. A very famous fabric. It is an elegant fabric made of fine threads. Several methods are used for its production.The first is the removal, that is, the ripping out of the fiber, the second is the dissolution of the filaments in the form of a pattern.
  • Combed satin. The name itself reads the essence of the production of fabric. The material is made from combed yarn using satin weaving. It is mainly used for making bed linen and any other home textile products.

Quite a wide variety of textile products are made from medium staple cottons.

  • Chintz. A well-known fabric made from threads of medium twist. Chintz is used in sewing summer clothes.
  • Calico fabric. This is a whole group of weaving fabrics, similar to chintz material. Textiles for household use are made from calico fabrics.
  • Calico. Russian material is made of pure cotton. Imported coarse calico contains a certain amount of synthetic fibers.
  • Carded satin. Dense fabric made of thickened threads.
  • Cretonne. A fairly dense and pre-dyed type of fabric, weaving of which is carried out according to the linen type.As a result, products are obtained with the presence of ornaments and various patterns. It is used for furniture upholstery.

Particular attention should be paid to the American stretch fabric. In the production of this fabric, the most advanced technologies are used, while the composition contains cotton in combination with elastane.

Recently, the Polish material polycotton has gained wide popularity.Its peculiarity lies in the combination of cotton and polyester in equal quantities.

Comparison with other materials

Each cotton fabric has certain distinctive qualities inherent only to it.

First you need to consider the combustion process. In principle, any natural material has the property of complete combustion.Products consisting of a mixed composition burn out with the formation of resin droplets. But synthetic fillings do not burn at all, they only melt. During the burning process, the smell of burning paper is emitted from natural cotton. After most of the fabric is burned out, the spoiled material begins to smolder. For comparison, you can check flax – it burns just as well, only the remnants smolder much worse. For another comparative example, wool is suggested. This material burns out almost immediately and completely.At the same time, an eerie smell of burnt hair is exuded.

Another distinguishing feature of cotton is its tactile feel. The touch of cotton causes the most unusual, soft, warm and delicate sensations. For comparison with other types of fabric, it is suggested to also consider linen. With tactile interaction, linen seems to be rather rough, tough and slightly cool. But none of these types of fabrics can compare with natural silk.

Cotton material is hygienic, practical and very beautiful in its properties. Thanks to a wide range of products, you can always choose the most comfortable things that will meet all the requirements of its owner.

Anyone can buy cotton clothes or other textile products made from it at the most reasonable price.

Where is it used?

Arriving at a store selling any fabric product, several questions immediately arise, and the main one is the presence of cotton fabric or any elements of natural cotton textiles.In fact, cotton is present in almost all products that a person uses. For example, bedding. For their production, soft types of fabric are mainly used, for example, satin, coarse calico. For a baby bed – exclusively flannel. Cotton material is light enough, therefore it is used in the production of summer dresses, men’s shirts. In hot summer weather, in cotton clothes, everyone feels cozy and comfortable.

Cotton fabrics are often used for sewing outerwear.Many firms use exclusively cotton material when ordering uniforms for their employees.

Almost any textile element in household use is cotton, for example, tablecloths, curtains, towels, curtains and much more.

Care

Like any other material, cotton requires special care.For example, so that the material does not shrink, white cotton items need to be washed at a temperature not exceeding 95 degrees. Colored – at 60. But thin versions of clothing – at a maximum of 40 degrees.

Cotton fabrics are best washed in a washing machine. In addition, the automatic system allows you to set the required washing mode for each separate type of laundry.

For any type of cotton, you can use additional cleaning agents that can soften the water in the machine, thereby making your clothes extra soft.

Colored cotton fabrics must never be washed with bleach or delicate detergents. The drying mode is only allowed for some types of cotton fabric. Information on this can be found on the label of the textile product.

Disregard for the fabric leads to the fact that the material shrinks after washing, accordingly, the size of the thing changes and the symmetry of the product is disturbed.

Master class on sewing bedding, see the next video.